Our Lives With Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Traumatic Brain Injury

A Little Tassel

We’ve been busy… Chauncey and I just finished our Associates Degree and now we’re taking the summer off to recharged fortassel university this fall! Its amazing to me…other than military schools, I have never had the pomp and circumstance commencement thing.

I will readily admit that I over did it this semester. I took 18 credit hours trying to get my degree finished. This was on top of my other life responsibilities like parenting four children and taking care of a household…and Toastmasters, of course. By the end of the semester, I had to stop attending Toastmasters to focus on my classes and everything else suffered too. Unfortunately, when you have PTSD multi-tasking becomes a lot more challenging. Remembering what is due, when, in which class, which kid has a parent-teacher meeting, take out something for dinner, write a speech, write a paper, read… yea right! I had myself so overwhelmed that I was forgetting assignments and I couldn’t read more than a paragraph at a time without forgetting everything I had just read. Needless to say, we will NOT be doing that again!

Now that we are finished with this semester, Chauncey and I are trying to regroup, recharge, and redeploy to our next mission. I am looking forward to relaxing, reading something because I *want* to, and reconnecting with my Toastmasters friends (something that I really do find relaxing, oddly enough). I will be refocusing this summer and sharing some of the research I’ve done hassleover this last semester regarding PTSD’s physiological and psychological effects.

Its amazing how much something as simple as a little tassel can mean. When you go from being terrified to interact with another human outside your house to earning a degree at age…well…we’ll just say I was one of the more mature students!

Stay tuned! I’ll be sharing lost of information very soon!

By the way…we graduated Cum Laude!

2 responses

  1. Congratulations Melissa…! 🙂

    As best you can, choose to stay focused and you will continue to achieve any and all of your endeavors as this most recent college graduation shows you.

    You did it…! 🙂
    One step at a time,… one day at a time,… one test at a time,…etc.
    You did it…!

    I’m proud of you and your achievements for you…! 🙂

    Howard Lovely, Jr. (ret. Sgt. USAF)

    May 7, 2014 at 11:18 am

    • Thank you Howard!

      May 13, 2014 at 2:11 pm