Our Lives With Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Traumatic Brain Injury

A Day In the Life…The Spouse Side.

Melissa and I talked about doing “a day in the life” post….a few days ago. And it took me a few days to get here and write it out. It’s hard to analyze what a day is “really” like, especially a bad day.

We get up 6:45ish so the kids can get out the door and get ready for school. Some days Jason doesn’t get up when we do and sometimes he’s up and getting ready for work at the same time. I get the kids breakfast and in less than 10 minutes of being up, we’re usually in chaos mode. I don’t know what it is about morning time but the kids argue non-stop. Jason and I both end up irritated. I put one on the bus, come back home and get ready to take the other one to pre-school. After drop off I come home and work – and then back out to pick up my little one from pre-school. More work in between and usually laundry at the same time.  Our boys get home around 4:00. We almost always have some activity after school. Jason doesn’t participate in the drop off, pick up, etc on these activities – because he just can’t. One of the biggest issues we’re hoping to face once he gets his service dog! We get snacks, do homework and are usually out of the house by 4:30 – off to dance class, football, doctor’s appointments. Whatever it may be. Sometimes I feel like a non-stop taxi. And it’s hard to do alone day in and day out. When we get back home we have to eat dinner (which Jason usually makes and I’m thankful for!), bathe and get the kids to bed. And then try to wind down, get some rest and start over the next day.

This probably doesn’t seem like a lot to do to most people. But, doing it alone every day wears on you. I work a full time job, take care of 3 kids full time, and run the household too (groceries, laundry, dishes, bath time, cleaning up). I’m not saying Jason doesn’t do any of those things, he does. But, for the most part I do the majority of them. It definitely is a fight-starter between Jason and I quite frequently. Sometimes I just want his help. And it’s hard that I know he can’t give it. We used to be pretty equal in our duties with the house and the kids. We are both hoping to get back there once he has the service dog, feels more confident and can deal with the crowds at the kids events.Hope is all we’ve got to go on…

One response

  1. I am with you 100% chick….I always kinda feel like we are living the same life at times, though yours is not mine and mine is not yours. George has been the taxi since I started working full time but he has the attention span of an ANT!! Thus making it hard to complete daily chores/tasks/duties. Day by day he is getting better and it took me a long time to accept things will never be perfect, i.e.; perfect, clean house, manicured lawn, toys put away; laundry always done, dogs bathed etc… I had to learn to accept life for how it was, no matter how frustrating it felt. After a while, my coping skills were improving and so was the quality of our relationships with each other and the kids. There are days that I want to break things and throw crap in the trash. Those are the days I have to learn new ways to make it better. So I am praying for you guys that the new addition to your family is the change you guys all need. That Jason needs. Everyday, is a blessing and a curse at the same time. Ultimately, a learning experience

    May 15, 2012 at 9:54 pm