Our Lives With Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Traumatic Brain Injury

Happy to be here

Thank you to Melissa for inviting me to be an author on this blog. I hope to offer a different perspective on living with PTSD and TBI -the spouse perspective.

My name is Elizabeth and I’ve been a military spouse since 2000. My husband, Jason (also an author on this site) is a Captain in the Marine Corps and has been diagnosed with PTSD and TBI. We’ve been married the entire time he’s been in the military, so we’ve done and seen it all together. Jason has done 3 combat tours (Iraq and Afghanistan) while I stayed home and handled the family side of our life. We have three children ages 9, 7 and 3.

I hope that I can offer encouragement, support and an open mind to other spouses, families, friends or loved ones of a military member going through the same struggle my family does. PTSD is not an easy thing to live with on either side of the spectrum – the military member or the spouse. But, I believe you can find a way out of the darkness and find ways to heal together as family. Education, understanding and support – are only the first steps. My family istrying to do just that.

I look forward to hearing from all of you!

Comments are closed.